All Five Tests at a Glance
- Cardio
- 2-mile run or 20 m HAMR (2-km walk only with an AF Form 469)
- Strength
- 1-min push-ups or 2-min hand-release push-ups
- Core
- 1-min sit-ups, 2-min reverse crunch or plank
- Body composition
- Scored: WHtR, 20 of 100 points, no minimum
- To pass
- 75+ composite and every starred event minimum: 2.5 of 15 (strength, core), 35 of 50 (cardio)
- Frequency
- Due 6 months after Excellent or Satisfactory (ARC: 12); 3 months after Unsatisfactory
- Cardio
- 2-mile run or 20 m HAMR; at least one 2-mile run a year
- Strength
- Tempo or hand-release push-ups
- Core
- Sit-ups, reverse crunch or plank
- Body composition
- WHtR measured since Jan 2026; scoring not stated
- To pass
- 60+ of 80 = physically ready, as released Sep 2025 (later change reported)
- Frequency
- Twice a year since 1 Jan 2026
- Cardio
- 2-mile run
- Strength
- 3-rep max deadlift, hand-release push-up, sprint-drag-carry
- Core
- Plank
- Body composition
- Separate: WHtR under 0.55 compliant
- To pass
- 300 total; combat MOS: 350 total and 60+ per event (sex-neutral)
- Frequency
- Twice a year for active duty under DoWI 1308.03 (reported)
- Cardio
- 1.5-mile run
- Strength
- Push-ups (2 min)
- Core
- Forearm plank
- Body composition
- Separate: WHtR screen at 0.55
- To pass
- Set in the Navy's PRT guidance (not checked here)
- Frequency
- Two PFA cycles: Jan–Jun and Jul–Dec
- Cardio
- 3-mile run or 5,000 m row
- Strength
- Pull-ups or push-ups
- Core
- Plank
- Body composition
- Separate: WHtR 0.52 or less
- To pass
- 300 max; any failed event fails; combat arms: sex-neutral, 210 points (reported)
- Frequency
- Twice a year for active duty under DoWI 1308.03 (reported)
| Compared | Air Force PFRA | Space Force HPA | Army AFT | Navy PRT | USMC PFT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cardio | 2-mile run or 20 m HAMR (2-km walk only with an AF Form 469) | 2-mile run or 20 m HAMR; at least one 2-mile run a year | 2-mile run | 1.5-mile run | 3-mile run or 5,000 m row |
| Strength | 1-min push-ups or 2-min hand-release push-ups | Tempo or hand-release push-ups | 3-rep max deadlift, hand-release push-up, sprint-drag-carry | Push-ups (2 min) | Pull-ups or push-ups |
| Core | 1-min sit-ups, 2-min reverse crunch or plank | Sit-ups, reverse crunch or plank | Plank | Forearm plank | Plank |
| Body composition | Scored: WHtR, 20 of 100 points, no minimum | WHtR measured since Jan 2026; scoring not stated | Separate: WHtR under 0.55 compliant | Separate: WHtR screen at 0.55 | Separate: WHtR 0.52 or less |
| To pass | 75+ composite and every starred event minimum: 2.5 of 15 (strength, core), 35 of 50 (cardio) | 60+ of 80 = physically ready, as released Sep 2025 (later change reported) | 300 total; combat MOS: 350 total and 60+ per event (sex-neutral) | Set in the Navy's PRT guidance (not checked here) | 300 max; any failed event fails; combat arms: sex-neutral, 210 points (reported) |
| Frequency | Due 6 months after Excellent or Satisfactory (ARC: 12); 3 months after Unsatisfactory | Twice a year since 1 Jan 2026 | Twice a year for active duty under DoWI 1308.03 (reported) | Two PFA cycles: Jan–Jun and Jul–Dec | Twice a year for active duty under DoWI 1308.03 (reported) |
Air Force column: AFMAN 36-2905 ¶3.1, 3.1.2, 3.7.1 Table 3.3 and the AFPC charts. Body composition has no minimum ¶3.7.1, and an Excellent is due again on the same 6-month cycle as a Satisfactory ¶3.10.1. Other columns: the dated sources listed below. Other services change their tests often, so confirm against your service’s current publication.
What Each Test Is Really Measuring
- Air Force PFRA: sex- and age-specific fitness standards plus an age-agnostic body composition measure of health risk, all in one 100-point composite ¶1.3.1, 3.7.1. Full details in the 2026 standards guide. Airmen who take an occupationally specific test (Special Warfare and EOD) take a sex-neutral, age-normed PFRA instead ¶1.3.3.
- Space Force HPA: much the same event menu with a tempo push-up option, on its own scale under SPFMAN 36-2905. See the HPA breakdown, including what has and hasn’t been published about its scoring.
- Army AFT: the most event-diverse test, with a maximal lift (3-rep max deadlift), the sprint-drag-carry, the hand-release push-up, the plank and the 2-mile run. Combat specialties use one sex-neutral, age-normed standard (army.mil/aft).
- Navy PRT: push-ups for 2 minutes, a forearm plank held as long as possible, and a 1.5-mile run (HPRC, 17 Jun 2022).
- Marine Corps PFT: pull-ups or push-ups, the plank, and a 3-mile run or 5,000 m row, with a separate Combat Fitness Test under the same order (MCO 6100.13A, as summarized by CorpsGuide).
Crossing Over: What Transfers and What Doesn't
For Airmen moving to a sister service’s test, or the other way round, two capabilities transfer well and two need dedicated work:
- Aerobic base transfers. Every test above is anchored by a timed run (or, for the Marines, an optional row).
- Core endurance transfers. A plank appears in all five tests, as the only core event or one of the options.
- Maximal strength doesn’t. Only the Army AFT tests a heavy lift, and Air Force training doesn’t prepare a 3-rep max deadlift.
- Event-specific pacing doesn’t. HAMR shuttle pacing, 3-mile pacing and sprint-drag-carry technique each need their own practice.
Sources and Dates
Checked 2 October 2026. Where a page blocked our tools, we say so and rely on the search summary noted.
- AFMAN 36-2905 · 24 Mar 2026
- AFPC PFRA scoring charts · effective 1 Mar 2026, corrected 17 Mar 2026
- spaceforce.mil: SPFMAN 36-2905 release · 26 Sep 2025
- spaceforce.mil: further guidance on physical fitness · 6 Jan 2026
- army.mil/aft · checked 2 Oct 2026
- MyArmyBenefits: Army adopts waist-to-height ratio · WHtR effective 7 Jul 2026
- HPRC: Navy Physical Readiness Test · 17 Jun 2022 (events)
- MyNavyHR fact sheet, NAVADMIN 264/25; USNI News · 30 Dec 2025 (two cycles, 0.55 WHtR screen; read as search summaries)
- CorpsGuide PFT calculator (cites MCO 6100.13A) · independent; checked 2 Oct 2026
- marines.mil: body composition standards (MARADMIN 066/26) · effective 1 Jan 2026 (read as search summaries)
- Military Times on DoW Instruction 1308.03 · 9 Sep 2026; instruction effective 31 Aug 2026
Frequently Asked Questions
Which military branch has the hardest PT test?+
Is the Air Force PT test easier than the Army's?+
Which branches run 2 miles on their PT test?+
Do all branches test twice a year?+
Which fitness tests score body composition?+
Can I compare my score across branches?+
More in Other Tests & Pipelines
See exactly where you stand.
Enter your reps, times and waist measurement to get your 2026 PFRA score instantly.