What Is the 2026 Space Force PT Test?
The Space Force fitness test is the Human Performance Assessment (HPA), set by Space Force Manual (SPFMAN) 36-2905, Human Performance and Readiness, which the Space Force released on 26 September 2025. Squadrons set up Unit Fitness Cells staffed by Guardian Resilience Teams, no testing was required before 1 January 2026, and every Guardian was to complete an initial HPA between 1 January and 30 June 2026.
Since 1 January 2026, all Guardians complete two HPAs a year, and fitness scores go on officer and enlisted performance briefs from February 2026 (spaceforce.mil, 6 Jan 2026).
The Air Force’s manual is a separate document. AFMAN 36-2905 (24 March 2026, formerly DAFMAN 36-2905) applies to the Regular Air Force, Air Force Reserve and Air National Guard, states that it “does not apply to the United States Space Force” Front matter, and says USSF requirements “can be found in SPFMAN 36-2905” Summary of Changes.
HPA Events in 2026
- Cardiorespiratory
- 2-mile run or 20 m HAMR. At least one of the two yearly HPAs must be the 2-mile run.
- Muscular strength
- Tempo push-ups or hand-release push-ups
- Endurance
- Sit-ups, cross-leg reverse crunches or a timed forearm plank
- Body composition
- Waist-to-height ratio measurement
Events: spaceforce.mil (6 Jan 2026). For the September 2025 version, Air & Space Forces Magazine (1 Oct 2025) reported the 80 points as cardio 50, strength 15 and endurance 15; we have not seen that split in a Space Force release, and body composition was not part of the 80 points as released. The tempo push-up is not an Air Force event: the PFRA uses 1-minute push-ups or 2-minute hand-release push-ups ¶3.1.2.2. A Space Forces-Southern HPA held on 23 April 2026 used push-ups, sit-ups and the 2-mile run (spaceforce.mil, 28 Apr 2026).
HPA Scoring: What We Could Verify
- Published by the Space Force: as released, the HPA measured muscular strength, muscular endurance and cardiorespiratory fitness on an 80-point scale, and a composite of 60 or higher meant physically ready (spaceforce.mil, 26 Sep 2025). Twice-yearly testing, the 2-mile requirement and the event options above come from the 6 Jan 2026 guidance.
- Reported, not verified: the 50/15/15 point split and a “Fit to Fight” level at 72 or more (Air & Space Forces Magazine, 1 Oct 2025). An Interim Change to SPFMAN 36-2905 and a Space Force Guidance Memorandum dated 8 December 2025, reported only by a secondary source (ClearanceJobs, 14 Jan 2026). VetRafi’s HPA calculator (charts “current as of February 4, 2026”) shows a 100-point composite and cites SPFMAN 36-2905 as modified 8 December 2025.
- Not found: the current SPFMAN scoring tables, category names and retest rules. The official SPFMAN PDF blocked our automated check, so this page doesn’t publish HPA point tables.
If you are a Guardian, your Unit Fitness Cell and the current SPFMAN 36-2905 are the authority for your scores. The release-date numbers above are history, not a guarantee of today’s tables.
Space Force HPA vs. Air Force PFRA
- USSF HPA
- SPFMAN 36-2905 (released 26 Sep 2025)
- USAF PFRA
- AFMAN 36-2905 (24 Mar 2026)
- USSF HPA
- Guardians
- USAF PFRA
- Regular Air Force, Air Force Reserve and Air National Guard; not the Space Force (front matter)
- USSF HPA
- 80 points as released; a later change is reported
- USAF PFRA
- 100 points (¶3.7.1)
- USSF HPA
- WHtR measured since Jan 2026; scoring not stated in the guidance
- USAF PFRA
- WHtR scored, 20 points, no minimum (¶3.7.1)
- USSF HPA
- 2-mile run or HAMR; at least one 2-mile run a year
- USAF PFRA
- 2-mile run or HAMR at any test; 2-km walk only with an AF Form 469 (¶3.1.2.4, 4.1.3)
- USSF HPA
- Tempo or hand-release push-ups
- USAF PFRA
- 1-min push-ups or 2-min hand-release push-ups (¶3.1.2.2)
- USSF HPA
- Sit-ups, cross-leg reverse crunch or plank
- USAF PFRA
- Sit-ups, cross-leg reverse crunch or plank (¶3.1.2.3)
- USSF HPA
- 60 of 80 = physically ready, as released
- USAF PFRA
- Excellent > 90 · Satisfactory 75–89.9 · Unsatisfactory below 75 or any minimum missed (¶3.6.1)
- USSF HPA
- Twice a year since 1 Jan 2026
- USAF PFRA
- Due 6 months after Excellent or Satisfactory (ARC: 12); 3 months after Unsatisfactory (Table 3.3)
| Area | USSF HPA | USAF PFRA |
|---|---|---|
| Governing manual | SPFMAN 36-2905 (released 26 Sep 2025) | AFMAN 36-2905 (24 Mar 2026) |
| Who it covers | Guardians | Regular Air Force, Air Force Reserve and Air National Guard; not the Space Force (front matter) |
| Composite scale | 80 points as released; a later change is reported | 100 points (¶3.7.1) |
| Body composition | WHtR measured since Jan 2026; scoring not stated in the guidance | WHtR scored, 20 points, no minimum (¶3.7.1) |
| Cardio | 2-mile run or HAMR; at least one 2-mile run a year | 2-mile run or HAMR at any test; 2-km walk only with an AF Form 469 (¶3.1.2.4, 4.1.3) |
| Strength | Tempo or hand-release push-ups | 1-min push-ups or 2-min hand-release push-ups (¶3.1.2.2) |
| Core | Sit-ups, cross-leg reverse crunch or plank | Sit-ups, cross-leg reverse crunch or plank (¶3.1.2.3) |
| Result | 60 of 80 = physically ready, as released | Excellent > 90 · Satisfactory 75–89.9 · Unsatisfactory below 75 or any minimum missed (¶3.6.1) |
| Frequency | Twice a year since 1 Jan 2026 | Due 6 months after Excellent or Satisfactory (ARC: 12); 3 months after Unsatisfactory (Table 3.3) |
Because most events are shared, the Air Force tools on this site will tell a Guardian what a rep count or run time is worth on the Air Force charts, for example in the PT calculator or the event guides for the 2-mile run, HAMR and plank. Those are not HPA points: the Space Force sets its own tables, and the tempo push-up isn’t on the Air Force charts at all. Treat them as a training reference only.
Wearables: CFA PRIME
The Space Force has run wearable-based fitness studies under the name Continuous Fitness Assessment (CFA). Its current study, CFA Personalized Readiness Integrated Through Monitoring and Engagement (PRIME), launched in October 2025 to refine physical readiness standards, raise exercise goals and build long-term habits. More than 7,300 Guardians enrolled in the first window in August 2025, with a second window planned for early 2026 (spaceforce.mil, 6 Jan 2026).
The September 2025 release let PRIME participants take one HPA a year instead of two. The January 2026 guidance ended that: since 1 January 2026, every Guardian takes two HPAs a year regardless of CFA enrollment, while PRIME’s data continues to inform the Space Force’s readiness model.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Space Force PT test called in 2026?+
What is a passing score on the Space Force HPA?+
Is body composition scored on the Space Force PT test?+
How often do Guardians take the HPA?+
Do Space Force members take the Air Force PT test?+
What is CFA PRIME?+
Do Guardians have to exercise between HPAs?+
Official Sources
- SPFMAN 36-2905, Human Performance and Readiness (official PDF) — the Space Force manual for the HPA.
- spaceforce.mil, 26 Sep 2025 — “US Space Force releases new Human Performance and Readiness manual”.
- spaceforce.mil, 6 Jan 2026 — “Space Force publishes further guidance on physical fitness”.
- spaceforce.mil, 28 Apr 2026 — Space Forces-Southern’s first HPA at Davis-Monthan.
- AFMAN 36-2905, 24 March 2026 (official PDF) — the Air Force manual, for comparison. It does not apply to the Space Force.
More in Other Tests & Pipelines
See exactly where you stand.
Enter your reps, times and waist measurement to get your 2026 PFRA score instantly.